Follow

User Management in vCloud Director

IMPORTANT NOTE: An organization administrator is the only one who can add users and groups to an organization. The organization administrator assigns each user or group a role within the organization.

 

IMPORTANT NOTE: Your role controls what you can see and do in vCloud Director.

An organization administrator can create local user accounts within an organization or import users and groups from an LDAP server. Contact your system administrator to set up an LDAP connection.

 

 

DEFAULT ROLES IN vCLOUD DIRECTOR:

Org. Administrator Administers the organization
Catalog Author Creates and publishes new catalogs
vApp Author Creates vApps and uses catalogs
vApp User Uses vApps created by others
Console Access Only

Uses virtual machine guest operating systems and views virtual machine state and properties

Contact your system administrator to create custom roles

 

ADD LOCAL USER

Adding local users allows organization administrators to provide access to users who do not exist on an LDAP server. You can also add local users if you do not plan to use an LDAP server.

  1. Click Administration.
  2. In the left pane, select Members > Users.
  3. Click the New User button.
  4. Type the user name and password.
  5. Select a role. (To create a custom role, contact your system administrator)
  6. (Optional) Type the contact information.
  7. Select the stored and running virtual machine quota limits for this user.
  8. Click OK.

The new user appears on the Users page.

 

 

EDIT USER


An organization administrator can edit local user properties such as the password, role, contact information, and quotas. For LDAP users, you can only edit their role and quotas.

  1. Click Administration.
  2. In the left pane, select Members > Users.
  3. Select a user, right-click, and click Properties.
  4. Modify the necessary properties and click OK.

 

DELETE USER

If a user leaves the company or moves to another organization, an organization administrator can delete a user from the organization.

  1. Click Administration.
  2. In the left pane, select Members > Users .
  3. Select a user, right-click, and select Disable Account.
  4. Reselect this user, right-click, and select Delete.
  5. Click OK .

The user is deleted from your organization.

 

DISABLE OR ENABLE USER ACCOUNT

An organization administrator can disable a user account to log the user out of the Web console and prevent the user from logging in again. You can enable a user to allow them to log in.

  1. Click Administration.
  2. In the left pane, select Members > Users.
  3. Select a user, right-click, and select Disable Account or Enable Account.

Disable user accounts have a red circle in the Enabled column and enabled user accounts have a green check mark.

 

VIEW AND CHANGE A USER'S ROLE

An organization administrator assigns a role when adding a user to the organization. The organization administrator can change the user's role later to give the user more rights or fewer rights.

  1. Click Administration.
  2. In the left pane, select Members > Users.
  3. Select a user, right-click, and select Properties.
  4. In the User role in organization: drop-down menu, select a new role for the user.
  5. The definition of each role appears as a tool tip.
  6. Click OK.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments